DC-Supply A/S
Danish Container Supply
Book a containerBook a container

Contact usContact us

You are here: Home 5 News 5 New rules for container locks

New rules for container locks.

The rules regarding locking mechanisms for containers officially changed on January 1, 2016. DC-Supply A/S – Danish Container Supply is ready to help find your new container lock.

We are ready to help - call our sales team:
+45 70231380

Registration and certification standards

During the transitional period from January 1 to December 31, 2016, locking mechanisms registered under the old system could keep their certification. However, from January 1, 2017, all locking mechanisms, new and existing, must be registered and certified according to the new standards.

The colour-coding system related to STM was replaced by the European standard, which assesses the locking mechanism for a minimum of eight parameters. This means the colour-coding is replaced by the category locking unit I-IV, which is a new collective description for locking mechanisms. This means extra care must be taken to pick the correct roman numeral when choosing a lock for your container.

A locking mechanism consists of three components: A cylinder, a lockbox, and a mount. For each of these components, insurance companies are setting minimum requirements at every level of insurance. These requirements are defined by three parameters:

  • The number of test cycles
  • Key security
  • Safety against breaching

The higher the safety level, the higher the requirements. In the table underneath, the new security levels are paired with the new identification for the locking mechanisms:

FlexLock udvendig
Security level New name
10 Lock unit I
20 Lock unit I
30 Lock unit II
40 Lock unit III
50 Lock unit IV
60 Lock unit V

It should be noted that it is possible to combine mechanical lock components with electronic ones, and still have a locking mechanism that fulfils the requirements according to the security levels. A locking unit can now be combined of:

  • A EN 1303-tested cylinder, or a EN 15684-tested mechatronic cylinder
  • A 12209-tested lockbox, or a EN 14846-tested electromechanical lockbox
  • A EN 1906-tested mount

The certification agency has to be credited to supply the certificate based on the test score of the locking units. If in doubt, DC-Supply recommends you contact your insurance company to enquire who qualifies as a certified agency.

DC-Supply A/S stocks a number of internal and external container locks and mounts that are all certified to the highest security level (V).

We also offer flexible lock mountings, which do not require tools for installation. All our container locks can be delivered in Greenland too.

Feel free to contact us for guidance or advice when you need new locks for your containers.

Container locks from DC-Supply A/S:

Mavako 3800i

Mavako 3800i

Grade 5 approved
With this safety function and approval of the new insurance requirements on Jan. 1, 2016, your goods are provided with the best protection against burglary and unwelcome guests.

Mavako 3600

Mavako 3600

Approved for the highest Class 5.
Provide your goods with the best protection against burglary and unwelcome guests.


Contact us - we are read to help.

Our strong experienced team is ready to support and advise you with your next container project. Please get in touch, if you would like to know more.

9 + 13 =

Fields marked with * are required.